Discoveries

So I am in the last section of the watermark book, having sent The Perfume of Books to the printer just this week.

I am working feverishly to get all the info corrected, add printers and do basic checking of the photos.

Today I discovered a few things:

  1. that the book entitled :
    Iournael vande Nassausche vloot, ofte Beschryvingh vande voyagie om den gantschen aerdt-kloot, ghedaen met elf schepen : onder ‘t beleydt van den Admirael Jaques l’Heremite, ende Vice-Admirael Gheen Huygen Schapenham,

    was written by one Johannes van Walbeeck (attributed) and printed by  Iacob Pietersz Wachter. Had I opened my eyes and read the title page, I would have read it months ago. But noooo. I relied on the internet.

  2. I had taken photos of lots of watermarks, and promptly forgotten about them. All were across the gutter, and not very easy to decipher.  However some of them are quite interesting.

Here is a screen shot. I am going this afternoon to Office works to print them out so I can make white outlines.

watermark-discovery-copy

Original and enhanced images, awaiting white outlines. Because they go across the gutter, they are a bit hard to make out.

I happily spend hours researching this stuff; but if I had to write out a grant application and answer the question: How does this research benefit Australia and Australians? what do you think the answer would be?

FYI

Leave a comment

Filed under bookbinding, libraries, museum

Leave a Reply

