Booksleuthing some more in an Australian colonial library

Booksleuthing; how I love that term. Yes I feel like a detective of books, finding out about how they were made, who printed them, and the significance of their images. I was never very good at symbolism, and this is a great big learning curve of imagery.

A few months back I visited Sonia’s library at Bedervale. Here is a reminder.

I returned this week for champagne and cheese, and while passing by the library, I couldn’t help but take a few more pictures and search some books.

I found a nice, if not somewhat worn, example of tree calf marbling:

This is a tricky process process involving water and ferrous sulphate being dropped on a piece of leather already attached to the covers. That is a very simple explanation indeed, and there are many articles written on the subject, one of which can be found at Hewitt’s website

However, this article is not about tree calf marbling, rather about discovery.

Lesley had been completely entranced by a travel guide to Syria and Egypt, printed in 1788. Using my handy phone torch in lieu of light sheet, I found these fleur de lis watermarks at the gutter and on the edges of the pages.

The above watermarks reminded me of these below:

This is the first time I have been able to find the same marks in differing books. The one above are in a book printed in 1810 in London,

Introduccion para la historia de la revolucion de Espana bound with An exposure of the arts and machinations which led to the usurpation of the crown of Spain. London, 1808. (RB CLI 3320)

Note that the mark on the left is most similar to the ones I found in the colonial travel book as it is positioned between the chainlines.

Interesting!

Leave a comment

Filed under bookbinding, conservation, libraries, museum

Leave a Reply

