Printer’s devices 1480 onwards

I was looking for some database or images of printer’s devices. These are the branding images used by printers in early books. Since I couldn’t find any, here are the devices I have found, along with corresponding names.I have also included title pages in case I couldn’t find a printer symbol.

I do have a couple of marks for the Plantin printery, the Sonnius printery.

I was searching for the Vatican printers marks. I have seen many books printed by the Vatican by no decisive mark. Anyone out there able to point me in the right direction?

ok, so I got impatient with trying to find all these devices on my computer.

I hope you enjoy them, and as I add more to this gallery I will update the details.

I would be happy to hear about any info you may have about any of these devices.

cheers

Leave a comment

Filed under bookbinding, libraries, museum

Leave a Reply

