Not much happening outside my own head

I’m happy at work, and since I have finished all the books that are going away for competitions I am a bit slow in the home bindery.

This is what is exciting  me at the moment:

 

Horn watermark

Horn watermark

Perhaps not this one is particular, but certainly this one: two griffins? found in a book about Spanish royal lineage.

Two griffins around shield

Two griffins around shield

I posted about searching for watermarks a few months ago. Well I am still obsessed by them. However given that I now have so much data, I’ve decided to consolidate by using the light sheet on books that I have already examined for their binding structure.

Take a look at this:

Watermark in Albrecht Durer's head

Watermark in Albrecht Durer’s head

I was so excited to discover this watermark in a self portrait by Albrecht Durer. Unfortunately I can’t quite make out what it is. Amongst the same set of images here is a tower watermark:

there is a crenelated tower in there somewhere.

there is a crenelated tower in there somewhere. Can you see the doorway?

This is the best image I can take. I think there is a tall crenelated tower, with perhaps a smaller secondary tower next to it. I can’t find this in any resource.

So as I consolidate data, I am also searching books and online databases, such as Piccard online and Le Briquet online. These take hours to sift through and at the end of the day all the watermarks end up looking the same.

I mean, how many grapes can you possibly have as watermarks? Well I read somewhere online that Germany once claimed to have had 25 million watermarks attributed to their country before the 1800s!

I have found French pots; they can have one or two handles, lid or no lids.

Pot, one handle with flowers

Pot, one handle with flowers

Recently I found a snake, with shield?

IMG_5046

Here we have grapes in a circle

2015-06-24 14.14.58

a hat,

this is a hat believe it or not

this is a hat believe it or not

and here is an axe:

An axe

An axe

As I sift through all my photos I see some marks that resemble each other. I suppose the biggest part of the job now is to compare all the similar photos and find them on the databases. I can’t tell you how  excited I get when I find a mark. It is such an overlooked item in a book. Even with the lightsheet, the printing can make the mark hard to decipher. I think I have trained my eyes to find them though.

In the libraries of Europe and America, these marks must seem so inconsequential; but in my small world here they are amazing to my colleagues and myself.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under bookbinding

Leave a Reply

